Skip to main content

ŚB 11.22.20


षडित्यत्रापि भूतानि पञ्चषष्ठ: पर: पुमान् ।
तैर्युक्त आत्मसम्भूतै: सृष्ट्वेदं समपाविशत् ॥ २० ॥


ṣaḍ ity atrāpi bhūtāni
pañca ṣaṣṭhaḥ paraḥ pumān
tair yukta ātma-sambhūtaiḥ
sṛṣṭvedaṁ samapāviśat


ṣaṭ — six; iti — thus; atra — in this theory; api — also; bhūtāni — the elements; pañca — five; ṣaṣṭhaḥ — the sixth; paraḥ — the transcendental; pumān — Supreme Personality; taiḥ — with those (five gross elements); yuktaḥ — conjoined; ātma — from Himself; sambhūtaiḥ — created; sṛṣṭvā — sending forth; idam — this creation; samupāviśat — He entered within it.


Other philosophers state that there are six elements — the five physical elements (earth, water, fire, air and ether) and the sixth element, the Supreme Personality of Godhead. That Supreme Lord, endowed with the elements that He has brought forth from Himself, creates this universe and then personally enters within it.


Śrīla Śrīdhara Svāmī states that according to this philosophy, the ordinary living entity is included within the category of the Supersoul. This theory thus accepts only the Supreme Personality of Godhead and the five physical elements.