Skip to main content

CC Madhya 23.46


ei pañca sthāyī bhāva haya pañca ‘rasa’
ye-rase bhakta ‘sukhī’, kṛṣṇa haya ‘vaśa’


ei pañca — these five kinds of transcendental mellows; sthāyī bhāva — permanent ecstatic moods; haya — become; pañca rasa — five kinds of transcendental mellows; ye-rase — in a particular mellow; bhakta sukhī — a devotee becomes happy; kṛṣṇa — Lord Kṛṣṇa; haya — becomes; vaśa — under the control.


“These five transcendental mellows exist permanently. The devotee may be attracted to one of these mellows, and thus he becomes happy. Kṛṣṇa also becomes inclined toward such a devotee and comes under his control.


In the Bhakti-rasāmṛta-sindhu (2.5.1), sthāyi-bhāva, permanent ecstasy, is thus described:

aviruddhān viruddhāṁś cabhāvān yo vaśatāṁ nayan
su-rājeva virājeta
sa sthāyī bhāva ucyate
sthāyī bhāvo ’tra sa proktaḥ
śrī-kṛṣṇa-viṣayā ratiḥ

“These moods (bhāvas) bring under control the favorable ecstasies (such as laughing) and unfavorable ecstasies (such as anger). When these moods continue to remain as kings, they are called sthāyi-bhāva, or permanent ecstasies. Continuous ecstatic love for Kṛṣṇa is called permanent ecstasy.”