Skip to main content

ŚB 11.25.20


सत्त्वाज्जागरणं विद्याद् रजसा स्वप्नमादिशेत् ।
प्रस्वापं तमसा जन्तोस्तुरीयं त्रिषु सन्ततम् ॥ २० ॥


sattvāj jāgaraṇaṁ vidyād
rajasā svapnam ādiśet
prasvāpaṁ tamasā jantos
turīyaṁ triṣu santatam


sattvāt — by the mode of goodness; jāgaraṇam — waking consciousness; vidyāt — one should understand; rajasā — by passion; svapnam — sleep; ādiśet — is indicated; prasvāpam — deep sleep; tamasā — by the mode of ignorance; jantoḥ — of the living entity; turīyam — the fourth, transcendental state; triṣu — throughout the three; santatam — pervading.


It should be understood that alert wakefulness comes from the mode of goodness, sleep with dreaming from the mode of passion, and deep, dreamless sleep from the mode of ignorance. The fourth state of consciousness pervades these three and is transcendental.


Our original Kṛṣṇa consciousness exists eternally within the soul, and it is also present in all the three phases of awareness, namely normal wakefulness, dreaming and dreamless sleep. Being covered by the modes of nature, this spiritual consciousness may not be manifest, but it continues to exist eternally as the real nature of the living entity.