Skip to main content

ŚB 11.21.41


गायत्र्युष्णिगनुष्टुप् च बृहती पङ्‌क्तिरेव च ।
त्रिष्टुब्जगत्यतिच्छन्दो ह्यत्यष्‍ट्यतिजगद् विराट् ॥ ४१ ॥


gāyatry uṣṇig anuṣṭup ca
bṛhatī paṅktir eva ca
triṣṭub jagaty aticchando
hy atyaṣṭy-atijagad-virāṭ


gāyatrī uṣṇik anuṣṭup ca — known as Gāyatrī, Uṣṇik and Anuṣṭup; bṛhatī paṅktiḥ — Bṛhatī and Paṅkti; eva ca — also; triṣṭup jagatī aticchandaḥ — Triṣṭup, Jagatī and Aticchanda; hi — indeed; atyaṣṭi-atijagat-virāṭ — Atyaṣṭi, Atijagatī and Ativirāṭ.


The Vedic meters are Gāyatrī, Uṣṇik, Anuṣṭup, Bṛhatī, Paṅkti, Triṣṭup, Jagatī, Aticchanda, Atyaṣṭi, Atijagatī and Ativirāṭ.


The Gāyatrī meter has twenty-four syllables, the Uṣṇik twenty-eight, the Anuṣṭup thirty-two, and so on, each meter having four more syllables than the previous one. Vedic sound is called bṛhatī, or most expansive, and thus it is not possible for ordinary living entities to understand all the technical details in this matter.